My garden friends were here at the Little Garden in March.  We just call it Garden Club, but we don’t sit in a cold, drafty hall and look at slides of every kind of Auricula or all the gardens of Italy that you will never get to see yourself.  No, we get down and dirty.  I think I’ve mentioned before that it’s a mini-meitheal.  There’s usually a big project to do or a few small projects.

Back border of Little Garden before edging done

Back border of Little Garden before edging done

I have created a large border at the Little Garden just behind the potting shed (which is really the boiler house, but potting shed sounds so much better…).  This border did happen overnight.  I’ve gradually been chipping away at it for about three years now.  The grass that tries (rather successfully) to creep into the bed drives me insane.

Big Garden Edges -- Rose Beds in Winter

Big Garden Edges — Rose Beds in Winter

So I thought it was about time to take serious action.  I decided that instead of putting in a wooden edge which will just rot in a few years, I would dig a sharp edge with a little trench to separate grass from border just like the ones at the Big Garden.  I have to trim the edge there about four times a year so I figured I could just do the same at home.

After edging done by Garden Club

After edging done by Garden Club at the Little Garden

The thought of making this edge on my own was rather daunting (read:  boring), so I enlisted the help of Garden Club.  All I had to do was mark the edge with a bit of line pulled between a couple of posts and away they went.  It was great and it took about an hour at most.  It was Baltic that day so I let them off easy so that we could go inside and eat chilli and buns and drink tea (the best part of Garden Club).

This is what the newly edged bed looks like in high season

This is what the newly edged bed looks like in high season

I’ve trimmed the edge once since then, but I didn’t really need to.  I had just done edging at the Big Garden so I would’ve felt guilty if I hadn’t done my own.  I’m looking forward to seeing how it looks once the beds are growing and the grass greens up a bit.  Watch here for an update…

